Biodiversity In India Vol. 8

T Pullaiah,S Sandhya Rani

Availability: In stock

Price : 2295
  • ISBN: 9789351247135

  • No. of Pages: 375

  • Imprint: Daya Publishing House

  • Publisher: Daya Publishing House

  • Year: 2016

In continuation of the series the present volume includes nine chapters from different parts of India. Floristic diversity in Uttara Kannada district, Karnakata is dealt with in the first chapter. It is followed by Diversity of Asterinaceous Fungi in Sirumalai Hills, Eastern Ghats. Third chapter is on Floristic diversity of Malkangiri district in Odisha. Daniels has given an Overview of Epiphyllous Liverworts of the Southern Western Ghats. Chapter 5 deals with Macrofungi in coastal sand dunes and Mangroves of Southwest India. Lichen biota in Chittoor district of Andhra Pradesh is given in the following chapter. It is followed by Ethnic plant-based Nutraceutical values in Kodagu region of the Western Ghats. Conservation of Bryophytes in the Sacred Groves of Western Ghats in Karnataka is given in the penultimate chapter. The last chapter deals with the additions to the Flora of Nagpur district in Maharashtra.

viii367p.,figs.,tabls.,ind., 25 cm

Preface v 1. Floristic Diversity in Uttara Kannada District, Karnataka 1 2. Diversity of Asterinaceous Fungi in Sirumalai Hills, Eastern Ghats 89 3. Floristic Diversity of Makangiri District of Odisha, India 175 4. The Epiphyllous Liverworts of the Southern Western Ghats: An Overview 217 5. Macrofungi in Coastal Sand Dunes and Mangroves of Southwest India 229 6. An Appraisal of Lichen Biota in Chittoor District of Andhra Pradesh, India 247 7. Ethnic PlantBased Nutraceutical Values in Kodagu Region of the Western Ghats 299 8. Conservation of Bryophytes in the Sacred Groves 319 9. Some New Additions to Flora of Nagpur District (Maharashtra, India) 333 Index to Species and Families 349

Prof. T. Pullaiah obtained his M.Sc. (1973) and Ph.D. (1976) degrees in Botany from Andhra University. He was a Post Doctoral Fellow at Moscow State University, Russia during 1976-78. He traveled widely in Europe and USA and visited Universities and Botanical Gardens in about 17 countries. Professor Pullaiah joined Sri Krishnadevaraya University as Lecturer in 1979 and became Professor in 1993. He held several positions in the University, which include Dean, Faculty of Life Sciences, Head of the Department of Botany, Chairman, BOS in Botany, Head of the Department of Sericulture, Coordinator and Chairman, BOS in Biotechnology, Vice Principal and Principal, S.K. University College. He retired from active service on 31st May 2011. He was selected by UGC as UGC-BSR Faculty Fellow and is working in Sri Krishnadevaraya University. Prof. Pullaiah has published 62 books, 305 research papers and 35 popular articles. He is Principal Investigator of 20 major Research Projects totaling more than a Crore of Rupees funded by DBT, DST, CSIR, UGC, BSI, WWF, GCC etc. Under his guidance 53 students obtained their Ph.D. degrees and 35 students their M.Phil. degrees. He is recipient of Best Teacher Award from Government of Andhra Pradesh, Prof. P. Maheswari Gold Medal and Prof. G. Panigrahi Memorial Lecture of Indian Botanical Society and Prof. Y.D. Tyagi Gold medal of Indian Association for Angiosperm Taxonomy. He was Past President of Indian Association for Angiosperm Taxonomy and presently he is President of Indian Botanical Society. He was Member of Species Survival Commission of International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (IUCN).
Dr. S. Sandhya Rani did her Master degree (1991) in Botany with first rank from Sri Venkatewara University, Tirupati and thereafter obtained her Ph.D. degree (1998) from Sri Krishnadevaraya University, Anantapur, Andhra Pradesh, India. At present she is working as Assistant Professor in the Department of Botany, Sri Krishnadevaraya University, Anantapur. She has 15 years of research experience in plant taxonomy and 5 years of teaching experience. Her publications include 52 research papers and 5 books. She was Principal Investigator of a Research Project funded by Department of Atomic Energy, Government of India and life member of IAAT, IBS and NESA.


INR Dollar Pound